One of my internet friends expressed interest in recipes that use butternut squash, so I had to share my creation, which I call my autumnal pizza. Sorry I don’t have pretty pictures like a real recipe blog, but it’s still way too warm here in California to actually make this, so you get what you get!

INGREDIENTS LIST:

Pizza dough of your choice

Caramelized onions

Butternut squash

A tart Apple of your choice (Granny Smith, etc)

Goat Cheese crumbles

Olive oil, salt, pepper, etc.

I like to make autumnal pizza for myself for Thanksgiving, since I don’t eat turkeys. It is pretty labor intensive if you do everything yourself, but premade pizza dough will save you some time. I also always just buy the pre-chopped up squash from the store, I’m not about to mess around with the whole squash.

That said, I almost always make my own pizza dough because what the hell, if I’m going to bother cooking at all, I’m going to go all out. My go to recipe is this Whole Wheat Pizza Dough from Girl Vs Dough.

The other thing you need to have done well in advance is your caramelized onions. There are many, conflicting opinions on the internet about how to properly caramelize onions. I just put mine in my slow cooker with some olive oil and leave it on low heat for a while. I check on them after half an hour or so and then again every 20 minutes or so. I usually do the onions the day before I’m going to make the pizza and then put them in the fridge over night.

You can prep your squash the same day or the day before, whichever. Cut it up into fairly small chunks (I would aim for about half-inch cubes or a bit smaller), toss with olive oil, and season with salt and pepper. Roast (with a lid on) at 450F until done. Every 20 minutes or so, give the squash a stir ‘n poke.When it’s soft enough that a fork slides in easily, you can take it out of the oven.

Now it’s time to assemble. Roll out or stretch your dough into a pizza shape. Brushthe top with a generous helping of olive oil, enough to coat the surface but not so much that it pools. Spread the caramelized onions over the dough. Take your apple and slice it up nice and thin, place slices over the onions. Next goes the squash, and finally your goat cheese.

Bake according to the directions for your dough. The dough I usually use takes about 10-15 minutes at 500F. Let it cool for a while (if you use the whole wheat pizza dough linked above this is extremely important; trying to remove it too soon will end in disaster. You have to be patient) and then cut and serve!

OPTIONAL EXTRA:

After baking, top with arugula and a drizzle of balsamic.

